Metsäylioppilaat Ry

Helsinki 1909
In English

In English

Forestry Students’ Association

Forestry Students’ Association Metsäylioppilaat ry (MYO) is for students studying forest ecology and management and forest economics in the University of Helsinki. The association was founded in 1909 and has about 300 members.

MYO organizes all sorts of activities such as excursions, cultural and sport events and parties. Our association has many old traditions, which we strive to keep grand and great, all the while creating new exciting events. Metsäylioppilaat ry also provides apartments for forestry students at Silvica (in Viikki) and Forstila (in Munkkivuori).

How to join Metsäylioppilaat ry

1. Print the application form or get one from MYO’s office and fill it.
2. Pay the member fee (instructions below).
3. Bring the form and the receipt of payment to MYO’s office or to the Metsäylioppilaat ry mailbox in the student clubroom at B-house.

Member fee for international students: 10 €

Payee: Metsäylioppilaat ry
Account number: FI48 1271 3000 0830 42
Payment reference: 1148

Traditional events

Valentine’s day party

”Snot on the cheek” ski competition with JMYO

The Anniversary of Metsäylioppilaat ry

”Vappu”- The First of May

Summer Party at Hyytiälä forestry research station

PM competitions between Finland, Sweden, Norway and Denmark

Moose-huntings at Hyytiälä forestry research station

”Hirvi- ja taimijuhlat”(Moose and Sapling Party) in November

Pre Christmas Party

International Forestry Students’ Association events throughout spring semesters

MYO Sports

Every week free of charge ball games such as floorball, volleyball, basketball at Unisport Viikki.

Monday at 8-9 pm
Thursday at 4-5 pm

Vote your favourite game here.

MYO Clubs

Timber Trade Club (Pk-kerho)

Excursions of forest industry, business and a lot more!

Timber Trade Club connects together Helsinki forestry students of economic interests. The aim of the club is to contribute the knowledge of forest-based business field and studies in forestry, as well as to prepare students to link into work life. Club provides numerous activities with practical experiences and new aspects to combine with the theoretical studies.

Annually there is elected Timber Trade Club board of 5 to 9 persons, who are in charge to actively create and organize activities for the members. Also, Timber Trade Club is owner member of Contact Forum- student fair, which is one of the biggest student fairs in Finland.

Timber Trade Club organizes excursions to interesting and topical companies and organizations, which are essential to the field of forestry. Every year club arranges long-awaited excursions, which head for a longer time to home country or abroad year after another. Traditional event is the night of freshmen, where new students have a chance to get to know the club. Timber Trade Club is most well-known for its outstanding excursions and trips, which combines freshmen as well as older students not to learn only, but to enjoy!

If you want to get the latest updates about the excursions and events, join the mailing list and like the page of Puukaupallinen Kerho – Timber Trade Club on Facebook! Also, the members of board are willing to inform you about the club, so please, ask. Come along, you are welcome!

Forest- and Wood Techonology Club (MPTK)

The Forest and Wood Technology Club consists of the students of the Faculty of the Forest Sciences in University of Helsinki. The main thing of the club is to improve the networking between the club’s members and the operators of the forest and wood technology industry. Every year we organize two excursions, one in the autumn and one in the spring. A member of Metsäylioppilaat ry is automatically a member of the Forest and Wood Technology Club.

VITRIS (Tropic forests and foreign affairs)

Student club for tropic topics!

This club is for all students interested in global issues and foreign affairs. We arrange exotic parties, get-togethers with interesting guests and excursions in Finland and abroad. We also give advice to students in tropical studies and share experiences from work and studies abroad. Our aim is to connect people from different backgrounds but with similar interests.

Contact info

Address

Metsäylioppilaat ry
Metsätieteiden talo
PL 27
00014 HELSINGIN YLIOPISTO

Location of the office

Room K215 (B-building, floor K2)
Latokartanonkaari 7
Open on Tuesdays at 12-13

E-mail lists

myo-ry(at)helsinki.fi (all students)
metsaylioppilaat(at)helsinki.fi (student board’s list)

Board of MYO

Chairman

Hiljahenna Tomminen hiljahenna.tomminen(at)helsinki.fi

Vice chairman

Isra Alatalo isra.alatalo(at)helsinki.fi

Secretary

Vilma Anttila vilma.anttila(at)helsinki.fi

Treasurer

Inka Keinänen inka.keinanen(at)helsinki.fi

Announcer

Venla Kiviniemi venla.kiviniemi(at)helsinki.fi

Host

Henri Koivisto henri.koivisto(at)helsinki.fi

Hostess

Kaisa Luukkonen kaisa.luukkonen(at)helsinki.fi

Faculty advisor

Jaakko Niinisalo jaakko.niinisalo(at)helsinki.fi

International coordinator

Elli-Noora Kamppuri elli-noora.kamppuri(at)helsinki.fi

Culture coordinator

Matias Karhumaa matias.karhumaa(at)helsinki.fi

Business coordinator

Elliroosa Raittinen elliroosa.raittinen(at)helsinki.fi

Freshmen coordinator

Olivia Kuuri-Riutta olivia.kuuri-riutta(at)helsinki.fi